Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines


Staff Favorites - Kirk Walker

Kirk Walker

Reviews

Page: 1 2 next
2017 Akitu "A1" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Black Label)
Review Date: 01-08-2020
This wine is just so much fun to smell. I love aromatically complex Pinot, there is almost nothing else like them, almost but we are here to talk about Pinot, not those other varietals. This is exotic, deep and dense, with lots of ripe red fruits with hints of earth, herbs, and spice. It is ripe and full, this Pinot demands your attention and you should be glad to give it. The fruits are concentrated and pure, the tannins are fine and polished, the oak is restrained and the finish is very long. This is for lovers of Pinot, no matter what region you prefer the most.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Mas de Sainte Croix "Passion d'Une Terre" Côtes du Rhône-Villages Valreas
Review Date: 01-08-2020
Delicious every day red. It opens with sun-warmed dark fruits with savory spicy nuances. Then the palate explodes, the fruit pops with a mix of dark and red fruits and spice. Lots of spice! This is rich, easy delicious. I finishes with soft tannins and a touch of earth and spice.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2017 Moulin de la Gardette "Cuvée Ventabren" Gigondas
Review Date: 01-08-2020
This is the second best Ventraren that I have ever tried, and I have had a lot! Last years was the best ever, this is a close second. That being said, I think that this is more accessible and better to drink tonight. This wine has an openness and a generosity verses power and concentration of the '16. The is lots of depth to this wine, dark fruits, spice and earth. This wine takes you on a journey. Starting with great aromatics, to rich dark fruits, then savory spices and all of that ends with a crazy stony earthiness that you can only get in Gigondas. Few wines can be both hedonistic and cerebral at once, this is one of them.

2016 Pedro Martinez Alesanco Garnacha Rioja
Review Date: 01-08-2020
One of the greatest treasures that Spain has to offer French wine lovers is the gift that it already gave to France, Grenache. Garnacha is from Spain, but I am very grateful to the French for bringing it to everyone's attention, but now it is time for it’s homeland to reclaim it. That is what this wine does. From a vineyard planted in 1905, this is old vine Garnacha. Grown in the iron rich clay soils in the foothills of the Sierra de la Demanda. This showcases Garnacha. It has an opulent nose, intense fruit, rich texture and surprising(or not) complexity. Two things jump out immediately, the intensity of the color and the nose. It is deeply colored, almost purplish, and broad and heady nose simultaneously jumps out of the glass and collapses under its density. It is loaded with fresh berries and a fine spices. The palate is rich and intense but poised. This has that old vine intense that is balanced and focused by the coolness of the growing site. The winemaking is minimal and meant to show off the fruit, only French oak that has already been used, and not aged for the long periods that Rioja is famous for. The fruit is amazing, it goes for days yet it is not fatiguing. There is a subtle earthy mineral element that is intertwined with the easy tannins and an exotic spice that is laced throughout. This is hedonistic Garnacha that will disappear from your glass faster than you will realize but if you get distracted and slow down you can discover that is so much to this wine.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2017 Losada Mencia Bierzo
Review Date: 01-07-2020
There is just something about Mencia. I cannot put my finger on what that something is but I always know that something always goes with Mencia. I have a primal response to this varietal, it scratches an itch that I didn’t know that needed to be scratched until I smell it. Then, well you know how good that feels. I want to call it Mountain wine, it technically isn’t. Bierzo is steep valley wine. But it feels like mountain wine to me. This aromatics on this wine are crazy good. Rich dark berry fruit with a smattering of tart red fruits, with savory herbal tones, spice, hints of dusty stones, and a muted floral element that lifts everything. I can just keep on smelling this wine! On the palate the feel of the wine is almost new world Pinot, but with a little more guts. A delicious mix of dark and bright fruits backed with delicate spice and that savory earthy herbal note. There are just enough tannins to give it substance and then it finishes with lingering fruit and a fine stoniness. Almost a cocktail red but it really wants to be dinner wine, something savory maybe with a little spice and maybe a little fat. Perfect for quick weekday dinners.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clos de Luz "Massal 1945" Malbec Rapel Valley
Review Date: 01-05-2020
Wow! that’s a Malbec! And from the other side of the Andes. Mixed red and dark fruits, floral and spicy. With just enough aromatic lift but great depth on the nose. There is a lot to this wine. More wow on the palate, as bright ripe fruits wash over the palate, with very easy tannins. With a little air the wine darkens; the dark berries, fruit blossom, and the spice and earth become a little more apparent. The wine is soft and concentrated, yet is fresh; has drive, but no edges. The tannins are very soft, and there is a touch of earth in the finish. Words fail to capture this Malbec. It is exceptional.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clos de Luz "Massal 1945" Cabernet Sauvignon Rapel Valley
Review Date: 01-04-2020
Elegant,concentrated, and aromatic. What a Cabernet! This has new world ripe fruit ands the aromatic complexity, depth and focus of a Bordeaux at twice, if not more, the price. Full bodied with good intensity and very polished tannins. There is aromatic lift but it all gets pulled into its concentrated core of ripe fruit in just a hint of tobacco & earth both of which are background accents. It is a fun mix of berries & red fruits with mouth-watering acidity but it is miles away from being tart. This wire is so good that it makes me stop and try to understand how it was made. Berries, earth, tobacco minerality with just a hint of that Chilean mountain herb/scrub play out on the finish. There is a lot happening here. This is one of the best Cabernets in store, especially for the money.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Clos de Luz "Azuda" Syrah Rapel Valley
Review Date: 01-04-2020
One of the best-kept secrets in the world of wine is how good Syrah is from Chile. It is an easy secret to keep, most people are not looking for the next great Syrah region, I am here to spill the beans! This wine grabs your attention. It does that effusive, hedonistic thing that Syrah does, without being over the top. The nose is big ripe berries (those perfect just picked farmers market berries that are very ripe, sweet and tangy and you can still smell with a little of that brambly leafy herbal note from the vine) and fine spice. The palate is lush, the tannins are polished and help to convey a berry roundness to the wine. Lots of berries, plums, fine spice, and a creamy mellow coffee note. This is an incredibly accessible Syrah that is almost heady and lush and fresh. This has almost everything anyone would want from Syrah. What a deal, what a wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Les Vignerons de Tautavel Vingrau "Silex" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages Tautavel
Review Date: 12-14-2019
Roussillon has become one of my favorite regions in France for Grenache blends. You can go to the more famous regions but the wines are always more expensive or under deliver. I think it is the unique geology and strive to be recognized, by mostly younger winemakers, that sets this region apart. This wine is charming. WIth lifted ripe clean fruit, easy tannins with just enough grip and a fun underlying minerality. There is good extraction and the Grenache fruit really plays out on the finish.

2016 La Fortuna "Magnus" Sant'Antimo Rosso
Review Date: 12-12-2019
A truer, if such a thing exists, Super Tuscan from one of my favorite Brunello producers. We know that La Fortuna is remarkable with Sangiovese, and this blend with Cab and Petit Verdot is just fun. This is an every-night Italian red with a softer accent. There is lots of dark fruit that is supported with soft easy tannins and just enough acid to make the fruit pop.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2017 Thistle Ridge Pinot Noir Waipara Valley North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-12-2019
What a deal. Looking at my notes two things jump out with this wine. The first thing is concentration—I went out of my way to mention it to myself twice! In a $15 Pinot? And the second thing is, "yummy." This has to be one of the best deals that we have for this varietal.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Nor Wester by Greystone Pinot Noir North Canterbury
Review Date: 12-12-2019
This is serious Pinot Noir at a very fun price point. This is aromatic, structured and fresh. High toned aromatics with nice depth, with layers of spice and earth. The palate has some concentration and fresh acidity. This wine is a perfect bridge from the New World to the Old.

2015 Château Bouscassé Madiran
Review Date: 12-11-2019
This is one of the most accessible and delicious Madirans that I have had in a long time. It is Madiran, so it is built big, but it is not gnarly. There is lots of dark berry fruit with a very fine almost gravelly earthiness to it. The fruit pops, the palate is rich and full and those Madiran tannins build on the finish. Pair with something hearty, a perfect winter red.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2017 Jeff Carrel "Lilac" Côtes du Roussillon-Villages
Review Date: 12-11-2019
This is a very pretty wine with lots of higher-toned aromatics and delicate red fruits. The palate is surprisingly soft but builds on the long finish. This is a delightfully unexpected Roussillon wine, more Pinot Noir like than Rhone. Whatever it is like, I want to drink more of it.

2018 Helen's Hill "Ingram Road" Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 12-08-2019
This wine begs the question, why is Yarra Valley Pinot not a thing? It is in Australia but not in the States. This is Pinot for anyone who enjoys drinking coastal California Pinot but wants to spend 50% less. The wine sings. Bright red fruits, lots of strawberries and cherries, with dark red fruit backed with a hint of dustiness. The palate is soft and easy, so easy, the wine will almost be gone before dinner is served. This is a perfect entry point to a great Pinot Noir region.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2017 Trans Douro Express Cima Courgo Douro
Review Date: 11-30-2019
The 2017 vintage was great in the Douro Valley. This wine is the dry exemplification of the great fortified that are now becoming available. This a brash red with a fun mix of dark and red fruits, spice, a wild floral thing, and an underlying minerality. This medium-bodied red that will pair with almost everything.
Price: $20.99 Add To Cart

2018 Verdeal "Ayre" Verdejo Rueda
Review Date: 11-30-2019
A long-time favorite here at K&L but you might not recognize it with its great new label. I think the wine has taken as big of a qualitative jump and the label did. It has always been crisp and easy but there if a purity to the fruit and a mineral element on the finish. This will leave all Sauvignon Blanc is blanc in the store at the same price and a little higher in its dust.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart

Honorío Rubio "Añadas Saca 2018" Blanco Rioja
Review Date: 11-30-2019
Named "Anadas" because it is a non-vintage blend. “Saca” will be familiar to sherry lovers, this is the most recent “withdrawal” from the solera this is aged in. It gets better, this is made from grapes grown in a valley renowned for white wine. This is an oaky, slightly oxidized traditional white Rioja that is made in non-traditional way.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2010 La Antigua Classico Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 11-30-2019
This is an old vine Grenache dominated Rioja from foothills or Rioja Alta. This is 100% Rioja with a twist. The nose is Rioja dark savory with the warmth and inviting spice of the region. The palate is rounder, here is where you feel the grenache, it is rich and has plenty of stuffing and a long complex and very satisfying finish.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart

2010 Pinna Fidelis "Roble Español" Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 11-30-2019
This wine was a revelation to me. I am a big fan of the Pinna Fidelis wines. There all express Ribera del Duero not matter what style the wine is made from. This wine is aged in Spanish Oak, I didn’t know that was a thing, shame on me, But thankfully they brought it to my attention with this wine. This wine delivers Tempranillo with its dark fruit and earthiness with maturing but still substantial tannins and spice. It makes me think of when people share recipes but remove a spice, so when you make it is not quite the same. This is a delicious fun note here that I can’t quite put my thumb on, I love it when wine does this!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bodegas Palacios Remondo "La Montesa" Crianza Rioja
Review Date: 11-22-2019
This is a wine that perfectly crosses the Pyrenees. A wine for both the Spanish and French wine lovers. It is Garnacha, or Grenache, and I will leave that up to you to call it whatever you prefer. But regardless of the language, this wine is delicious. It is bright, with lots of fruit that is backed by spice and herbs. There is a lot of fruit but it is not a fruit bomb. It is an effortlessly charming wine that can be enjoyed by itself or with almost any fare.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2015 Galia "Le Dean" Tierra de Castilla y León
Review Date: 11-22-2019
This is could be the best Ribera del Duero on the shelf, but it is not labeled as such. Before we get bogged down with the details, this wine is stunning. It has mouth-watering aromatics. It smells as if it has every flavor sweet, sour, bitter, salty and savory, it is very striking. You almost want to take a bite out of it more than drink it, almost. That dark Tempranillo fruit hits the perfect balance of a blackberry; almost juicy with sweetness and enough acidic bite to make it pop. There is a savory umami thing that darkens the fruit and a whiff of oak and dusting minerality to hit the salty and bitter elements. The nose is so much fun! The palate is serious. This is a grand wine with a great deal of presence but impeccably balanced. It has everything, texture, fruit, tannin, spice, earth minerality and a finish that goes and goes and goes. This is a wine that demands attention yet is still fun. Drink it tonight with something rich and hearty. It will also benefit from some time in your cellar.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart

2015 Galia "Villages" Tierra de Castilla y León
Review Date: 11-22-2019
Wine is Romantic, it is one of the reasons that makes it so captivating to so many of us. What is romantic will be different for all of us, again, that is why it is great. One of the most captivating things about wine, to me, is the rescuing of old vines. All anyone has to do it say "neglected old vines", from any region in the world and you will have my undivided attention. That is why I was entranced with the wines of Galia. These wines are essentially made from micro-plots of old vine Tempranillo. This wine is so expressive. It has a warmth and generosity that reminds me of summertime. There is a sitting on a grassy hill on a sunny but not too hot of a day warm clean earthiness rising from beneath the decadent, ripe dark berry fruit of this wine. It is summer. The fruit and earth are accented with spice and superfine herbal thing too. The wine just smells delicious. On the palate even more summery with more fruit and less earth but lots of intrigue. It is full, round and solid, built to impress but not bully. The fruit pops over a savory earthy minerality. The beautiful dark Tempranillo fruit sings. This wine is very much akin with its neighbors in the Ribera del Duero but there is a clarity and focus that sets it apart.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2017 Susana Balbo "Brioso" Uco Valley White Blend
Review Date: 11-07-2019
This wine thrills the senses and it amazes me how reasonably priced it is. It should not be a surprise being that the great Susana Balbo makes this wine. It is aromatic but it is not perfumed. It has great fruit, enticing texture, refreshing acidity, and a little mineral tang. The wine is familiar and unusual. It also has a presence, but most importantly it just smells and tastes like great wine. It is an unusual blend of Torrontes, Semillon and Sauvignon Blanc and no effort nor expense was spared in making this wine. The Torrontes and Sauvignon Blanc were aged in oak, a good portion of which is new, the Semillon is aged in concrete, there is both a classical and a modern twist to the winemaking here. The wine presents the best sides of all of those varietals and none of their challenging features. This is the rare white wine that can unite and delight all white wine drinkers. This is an aperitif and a dinner wine. The range of flavors with the mouthfeel and texture make this an ideal holiday white.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2012 Domaine du Haut Bourg "Origine" Muscadet Côtes de Grandlieu
Review Date: 11-07-2019
This wine is a kick in the pants. This is one of the most exotic Muscadets that I have ever tried. Come to think of it exotic and Muscadet are two words that do not seem comfortable in the same sentence. That is OK, they are more than comfortable in the glass, in fact they are delicious together. There is fruit and spice and texture to this wine. It has the acid and mineral that you expect but what is on top and before it are really exciting. I am still trying to wrap my mind around it. I love wines that surprise like this.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-07-2019
This delivers everything that I want from one of my favorite Brunello producers. It is intense, it starts with the aromatics and runs completely thru to the finish. It is savory dusty red fruits with spice and that Montosoli minerality. On the palate, the wine reminds me a little of the 2010 that savory developed quality is there but not quite as pronounced. this is a complex full-bodied wine with great depth of flavor, you just want to keep coming back to it. This is going into my cellar.

2018 Matt Connell "Rendition" Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 11-07-2019
This presents the paradox of Pinot. The nose has volume, the aromas take up all the space that is given to them, but the quality of the aromatics is bright and delicate. There is a real fineness to this wine that is immediately charming. The fruit drives the wine but it still has that fine duty herbal tone but at a very low volume. The same experience follows onto the palate, it has great mouthfeel but without any heaviness. The fruit delicately follows that entry with intensity and lightness. It dances. layers of fruit roll across the long finsh. What a Pinot Noir.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 Podere Donna Nera Rosso di Montalcino
Review Date: 11-07-2019
This could be your next house Italian red. This does almost everything that I want a wine from Montalcino to do. The nose is dark cherries and a hint of Tuscan dustiness. The one thing that it lacks, it does so on purpose, tannins. This is not Brunello, it’s a Rosso. This is an everyday wine, not wine that requires a days braising or 2 inch steak. There are just enough tannins that bolster up that dusty cherry fruit but this wine is easy. Just what you want to sip on when you get home from a busy day and start cooking dinner.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2018 Domaine Petroni Corse Blanc (Corsica)
Review Date: 11-07-2019
I look forward to the new release of this wine. I have always been a fan of Vermentino from Italy but experiencing the Whites from Corsica has swayed me to the other island for Vermentino. It is crisp and enticingly aromatic. It has modest richness, great acidity, and nice extract, especially for this price point. This wine just lingers. What a great deal it is.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2018 Pinna Fidelis Roble Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 11-06-2019
This is a terrific everyday red wine, for any red wine drinker. There is plenty of of bright fruit, mostly mixed berries and cherries that if framed with a touch of oak and backed with enough tannins to support but not to dominate. A great weeknight dinner red. Pairs with rustic pastas to take out roast chicken. Charming and easy drinking.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2015 Señorio de San Vicente Rioja
Review Date: 11-01-2019
This is a modern Rioja. I know that doesn’t help. This is modern like Super Tuscans are modern. This comes from that period in the wine history when traditional regions in Europe (and the rest of the world) looked to the new wave of Bordeaux and Napa Valley for inspiration. Rich and flashy, new oak and extraction rather that medium bodied and austere. This come from a single estate in Rioja Alavesa, with that magical limestone rich clay soils, planted entirely to organically grown Tempranillo Peluda. An ancient clone of Tempranillo, native to Rioja Alavesa, that was essentially abandoned because of low yields (a quick aside: this varietal makes so much sense now when you hear viticulturalists/winemakers artificially reducing their yields, why not use a variety that does that naturally?). This modern wine sees almost 2 years in new oak, 90% of which is French. This is Rioja that speaks with a French accent. But you never miss that distinctive Alavesa Riojaness to the wine. Tempranillo, regardless of the clone, on those special soils is pitched higher, no matter how extracted it is. There is also that distinctive mineral extract on the finish. The nose is rich and heady with lots of dark rich red fruits that are framed and focused by the French oak and seasoned with the savory mountain herbs of Rioja. The wine is full of lots of intense Tempranillo fruit that is corralled by the oak. The tannins are present and polished. Hiding in the middle is the hint of American oak spice, an embellishment that speaks to the history but really only whispers. What could be the best feature is the finish. The intensity of this wine lingers, the fruit brightens, the mineral tone builds, and you are just left with the desire for one more sip. Note: this is a young wine still. The wine really needs some decanting in order for it to shine. Give it an hour and enjoy.

2015 Marqués de Murrieta "Finca Ygay" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 10-29-2019
This wine wows. I just love smelling this wine. It is lifted with bright and dark tones backed with a warming savory spice and basalm tones, all in perfect balance. It is a wine that is not cerebral wine, it smells great and it tastes even better. But it has the hallmark a great wine for me, I just want to keep smelling it. It is medium-full bodied with an open generous mid-palate, surprisingly so. You expect wines like this to have a firmer structure, but it is almost soft and pliant, almost. It gives the impression of being rich and delicate at the same time. With the fruit, spice and oak tones all effortlessly working to enhance each other. I am just a sucker for wines like this.

2016 Fratelli Barale "Serraboella" Barbaresco
Review Date: 10-28-2019
Pure and happy, were the first two words that popped into my mind while trying this. Wow, was the third. High-toned, focused with lots of dimensions on the nose, this is what I love about Nebbiolo. It has purity and brightness and an initial lightness then the wine settles in. What seemed to light and delicate has forced you to pay attention to it. There is the classic grip of the tannins that lets you know your are not drinking a simple quaffer. Layers of fruit and delicate spice, earth, minerality and floral whiff, this is an amazing value.

2017 Quartz Reef "Bendigo Single Vineyard" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Biodynamic)
Review Date: 10-28-2019
This is everything that I have come to love and expect from the Quartz Reef Bendigo, intense dark cherry fruit with the faint herbal spice that only seems to intensify the fruit. It has to be the site and the farming but this wine has a red fruit character to it that is unique to itself but always speaks to me of the Central Otago. Rich and mouth-filling, for a Pinot, with soft round tannins. The finish is where this wine shines, it explodes with slightly macerated mixed wild berries that just goes and goes.

2017 Moulin de la Gardette "Tradition" Gigondas
Review Date: 10-28-2019
This could be the bottling of this wine that I have every tried, I have been with K&L for a while, so I have tried quite a few. If it is not the best, it is definitely my favorite. Lifted dark fruits with spice and earth. On the palate it is spicy and rich without being heavy and has layer and layers of spice and fruit. This is solid and intense with a very nice finish. Not as monumental as last vintages Ventabren, but way more drinkable.

2017 Clos Saint-Jean Châteauneuf-du-Pape Vieilles Vignes
Review Date: 10-28-2019
Deep, intense yet restrained. This does what I want all great CdP's to do, flirt with power but seduce with complexity. This wine knows just where to stop and start, and makes me want to come back for more and more, and that is without my lips every touching the glass! it does the exact same thing on the palate. Starts rich and full with bold fruit but then lingers with subtle earthiness and muted herbs. This wine has my undivided attention, at least until I finished it.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2017 Cooperativa Cristo Del Humilladero "Granito del Cadalso" Garnacha Vinos de Madrid
Review Date: 10-18-2019
There Sierra de Gredos mountain were not on most drinkers wine map a decade ago. The range of mountains is located about an hour west of Madrid. The relatively high elevation and granitic soils and a perfect starting point for delicious Garnacha. Throw in the light touch of winemakers Daniel Landi and Fernando Garcia and the equation is complete. This is a high toned Garnacha with lifted pure aromatics, and hint of mountain herbs. The wine texture and weight of the wine are surprising given the wines delicate hue. A versatile red that also surprises.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart

2012 Remelluri Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 10-18-2019
Remulluri balances the modern and the traditional in a way that few other producers can in this very traditional region. This wine is has modern polish without feeling polished. It carries the Reserva labeling and has spent 18 months in oak to do so but the oak and the time in it do not drive the personality of the wine, the Alavesa fruit does. I do not know if it is the organics or the blend of Tempranillo, Garnacha, Grasciano and Manzuelo (it has to be both) but the dark red fruit is so distinctive yet finishes so typical. Complex, aromatic, rich, long and pure this is a great bottle of wine.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2017 Herdade do Esporão "Esporão" Reserva Branco Alentejo
Review Date: 10-18-2019
Not all white from Portugal are light and crisp. This wine has a richness and fullness that you would expect coming from the warmer interior on the Alentejo region but that is balanced with a freshness and minerality that must come from the schist and granite rich soils. The wine is made from organically grown Arinto, Antão Vaz and Roupeiro all estate grown in the Reguengos sub zone. Vinified in a mix of oak and Stainless tanks the wine has clean bright fruit, texture and spice from oak and lees aging. This speaks of more famous French wines but with the warmth and openness of its native Portugues accent.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

2017 Quinta da Saudade "Palato do Coa" Branco Douro Superior
Review Date: 10-18-2019
When you think of the Douro valley you don’t think of white wine. You most likely think of Port and probably not white port. White port can be fantastic, especially with tonic, but that is for another review. White varietals have long been planted here, varietals like Viosinho, Rabigato and Codega do Larinho, which most of us have never heard of, this is one of the things that I love about Portugal. Grown in the yellow schist soils and vinified in stainless tanks this wine delivers the white expression of the valley. It is medium bodied with fresh acidity. It has all of the qualities of the reds the floral, mineral, with fresh fruit and just a hint of something wild.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart

2017 João Cabral Almeida "Camaleão" Minho Alvarinho
Review Date: 10-18-2019
Minho is the name of the region from which Vinho Verde is located. While Alvarinho is planted in many of the sub regions of the Appellation the most famously grown in the Northern zone nearest to the Spainish border. What is exciting about this bottling is that it hales from the Southern more interior zone of Amarante, where it has the region's famous granitic soils but it is more sheltered for the coastal weather patterns. This wine basks, like the lizard on the label in the sun. It has a little more richness and expressive fruit but all the racy acidity minerality that you expect from Alvarinho.

2016 Alvar de Dios "Aciano" Toro
Review Date: 10-18-2019
Toro, the region came to fame in the 90’s making wines that were dark, powerful, extracted and oaky. They were and are impressive wines that make a big impression. Alvar de Dios Hernandez inherited a small parcel in this famed region about a decade ago, a great inheritance 90 year old Tempranillo vines that are ungrafted planted in uniquely sandy soils. Alvar in more interested in elegance and expressiveness so maximum effort goes into minimal intervention. The classic dark fruit is lifted and enhanced and the richness is balance with freshness as opposed to oak.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2017 Sierra de Toloño Rioja
Review Date: 10-18-2019
Made from small parcels of Tempranillo grown in the very foothills that give the winery it’s name. Sandra Bravo wants to make fresh wines that speak specifically of where they come from, Rioja Alavesa. The elevation, the high concentration of limestone in the soil, the cooling winds from the Tolono mountains give the fruit clarity and depth. The spontaneous fermentation and minimal intervention, and less than a year in older french barrels help soften the tannin and focus the fruit into a wine that speaks of the varietal and Alavesa.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2018 Quinta Milu Ribera del Duero
Review Date: 10-18-2019
A small project of winemaker Germán R. Blanco who is actively moving away from the regions winemaking traditions. The fruit comes several smaller plots, all of which are older than 40 years, all located around the village, La Aguilera. Here is where the elevation and limestone soils work to balance the extremes of the regions contental climate. This wine only sees old oak, both French and American but after that is where this wine diverges from modern traditions. The wine spontaneous ferments and he tries to intervene as little as possible. The is deeply colored, just like you think it should be but there is a liveliness and a freshness to it that is unexpected. The flavors are Ribera del Duero but the experience is not.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

Alvear "1927" Pedro Ximenez Solera Montilla-Moriles (375ml)
Review Date: 10-04-2019
I’ll admit I am a little biased but this could be one of the best dessert wines that we have for sale, especially for the money. We have sold these wines for years, they are great. But like all things wines, we tend to look for all things new, so we end up forgetting. Then we meet them again, with a few more miles (who am I kidding many more miles) down the road. This wine was a revelation. It smells like dessert. Not the bright fresh fruit of other dessert wines. This is holiday bake sale kind of dessert. Molasses and fudge and spices with toffee and caramel. Rum cakes, sticky toffee pudding with concentrated dates and fig thing too. The kid in me is totally satisfied. Then comes savory intrigue. This is not all sweetness. There is tobacco and dried leaves (it makes me think of jumping in piles of leaves, dried leaves). Just enough to layer all of the goodness that came before it. And that is just the nose! Too many words, I know, stay with me, or skip to the end, there is a twist. On the palate it is sweet, its PX, but surprisingly (not the twist) is that it is not cloying. The aromas make you think that your tongue will be coated in syrupy goodness. It isn’t there is a freshness to this, the acid focuses all those great aromas/flavors across your tongue and leaves your mouth watering for more. Classically drunk by itself after dinner or on top of vanilla ice cream, but I want chocolate pecan pie, a la mode. The twist, here it is, is that what this wine made me think of when tasting it was Amaro liqueurs. This is kind of like a non-bitter Amaro. The complexity and the sweetness balanced with savory tones and the higher alcohol it is not too far of a reach. This has tons of cocktail applications. Being oxidized and fortified sealed the deal for me. This is a dessert wine that you do not have to rush to finish. A little is all that you need and it will not fall apart after you open it. Like I said, this could be the best dessert win in the store.

2016 Byron "Nielson Vineyard" Santa Maria Valley Chardonnay
Review Date: 10-03-2019
Wow. This is a really good CA Chardonnay. This hits all the classic notes one would expect from it but it is cool and effortless. Effortless the perfect word for this wine. Creamy and cool yellow fruits with mineral undertones. The wine rolls on the palate and remains fresh. This will impress all white wine drinkers.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Monacesca "Mirum" Verdicchio di Matelica Riserva
Review Date: 10-03-2019
I really like this wine. It is ripe and savory, full-bodied, concentrated, with focus and freshness. With dark yellow fruit tones, hints of nuts, herbs, and minerals. This wine pulls in many different directions, yet never pulls itself apart. It a very very good white wine. I would happily put this up against much more expensive white Burgundy's. Serious, delicious wine.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

2014 Trinity Hill "The Gimblett" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay (Black Label)
Review Date: 10-03-2019
Hawkes Bay is just one of the best places in the world for Cabernet blends. This is the perfect showcase for what those grapes can do in the Gimblett gravels of this special place. The wine has new world levels of fruit with old-world structure and most importantly to me a unique fine earthiness that you can not find anywhere else. The wine dances on the palate with dark red fruits, mild herbs, a touch of chocolate and enough tannin to let you know that it is there and structure the wine without intruding. This is a perfect K&L wine, we sell a lot of Bordeaux and a lot of CA Cabernet this is both but in one bottle.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Cune "Imperial" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 09-13-2019
This is always a wine that you have to pay attention to--but it is really hard not to. The nose is great. It is everything that I want a Rioja to do. It is intense, complex, yet restrained. It gives you everything: dark fruit, spice, earth, oak, but it is integrated and settled, in that no one component jumps out in front of the other. It is just a pleasure to smell and to anticipate that first sip. The promise of the nose is delivered on the palate. This is a full-bodied red that is not heavy; it is lively without edges. These are deep and harmonious flavors that continue to roll on the palate during its long finish. I know I am biased, but this is a ridiculously good wine; and it's in contention for the best red in the shop at the price point.

2016 Sidewood Estate Shiraz Adelaide Hills South Australia
Review Date: 09-11-2019
This is mouth-watering Syrah. I have a Pavlovian response to the aromatics in this wine. The rich, intense, dark fruit that is backed by savory herbal tones and mellow spice makes me immediately think of lamb chops. Once I have grilled lamb on my mind I start to salivate. I am a simple creature. This is primal Syrah for me. It is not the soft pretty mouth full of berries. This is dark cherry, smoke, herbs with really well-managed tannins and a fresh mouth-watering finish, and that is not just me thinking about Lamb. Savory cool-climate Syrah from Australia, I am a fan.

Page: 1 2 next